Visiting International Fellowship: University of Surrey

The Department of Sociology at the University of Surrey, Guildford, United Kingdom, has a long-established Visiting International Fellowship (VIF) scheme which aims to develop links with international scholars who should be at least 5 years post-doctorate. The Fellowship is an exciting opportunity for scholars to collaborate with members of the Department, contribute to its academic life and commence a planned piece of scholarship. The focus of the Fellowship can be on any substantive area of interest within the Department (see here<> for details of our research clusters, centres and staff interests).

Applicants will normally hold, or recently have held, an academic appointment in social science. The Fellowship committee regrets that it cannot consider applications from candidates seeking training or the updating of methodological skills. Proposals for collaborative activities with members of the Department of Sociology are especially welcome.

An award of up to £3,000 will be made as a contribution towards the Fellowship and this can be spent on various activities to support collaborative scholarship between the Fellow and member(s) of the Dept. This might include visiting the Dept, although we also welcome online activities and collaboration, developing or commencing a small collaborative project, including writing projects, disseminating findings, and promoting knowledge exchange. Overall, we encourage innovative use of the funds and would like to hear your ideas.

VIFs will become honorary Research Fellows of the University of Surrey and be entitled to use the University Library and make use of University facilities. The holder of a Fellowship is usually permanently resident outside the United Kingdom.

VIF holders have included: Roos Pijpers (Radboud University), Alistair Harkness (University of New England), Amanda Haynes (University of Limerick), Michelle Salmona (Institute for Mixed Methods Research), Dariusz Jemielniak (Kozminski University), Catherine Harnois (Wake Forest University), Barbara Perry (University of Ontario Institute of Technology), Premalatha Karupiah (Universiti Sains Malaysia), Peter Davis (Auckland), David Morgan (Portland State), David De Vaus (La Trobe), Ed Brent (Missouri), Norman Blaikie (Emeritus, Universiti Sains Malaysia), Irwin Deutscher (Akron), Edith de Leeuw (Utrecht), Seppo Laaksonen (Helsinki), Luis Antunes (Lisbon), Ming Yan (Beijing), Cesar Cisneros (Mexico), Tom W Smith (Chicago), Bob Belli (Lincoln), Jin-Kyu Jung (Grand Forks), Carl Roberts (Iowa), Warren Thorngate (Ottawa), Linda Williams (Massachusetts Lowell) and Gerd Wagner (Germany).

Applications must be received by 17.00 (British Summer Time) on Friday 9th Sept 2022 for a Fellowship to take place during the academic year 2022-23. Applications must be made on the application form posted on the VIF webpage noted below. Application forms should be submitted by email as an attachment. To ensure parity for all candidates, there can be no extension to this deadline. We aim to communicate decisions by 17.00 (British Summer Time) on Friday 30th Sept.

The application form and more information about the Visiting International Fellowship, and the Department of Sociology at the University of Surrey, are available at:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s